YSRCP releases first list of 9 Lok Sabha candidates 

The YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) late on Saturday evening released its first list of candidates for nine constituencies in Andhra Pradesh ensuing Lok Sabha election and announced that YS Avinash Reddy will contest from Kadapa.

Last year in June, Y S Avinash Reddy and P V Midhun Reddy, who quit as MPs while protesting the denial of Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh, have been renominated from Kadapa and Rajampet respectively. The other seven candidates who will be fielded in different constituencies of the state are YSRCP leader Madhavi (Araku), Sanjeev Kumar (Kurnool), Anuradha (Amalapuram), Talari Rangaiah (Anantapur), Nandigam Suresh (Bapatla), Sanjeev Kumar (Kurnool), Anuradha (Amalapuram), Gorantla Madav (Hindupur) and Reddppa (Chittoor).

Meanwhile, G Srinivas, whom Jana Sena Party (JSP) announced as its MP candidate for Visakhapatnam, joined YSRCP on Saturday in presence of YSRCP chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy. The YSRCP had a plan to release its full list on Sunday at Idupula Paya in Kadapa district. However, Swami Swarupanandendra suggested the party chief announce names of nine candidates on Saturday as per the auspicious time. As Andhra Pradesh has a total of 25 parliamentary constituency seats, the remaining 16 names will be announced on Sunday.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora on Sunday in New Delhi announced the schedule for 17th Lok Sabha polls and the Assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh as well, which will take place on April 11 in a single phase. The results of the Assembly and Lok Sabha polls will be announced on May 23.